search this site
ABF Tour News - TOC 2006
Clash of the Titans

15th December, Hong Kong: The ABF Tour 2005 Grand Finals - the Tournament of Champions, arrives in Jakarta again at the Jaya Ancol Bowling Center in January 5 - 8, 2006 the where the top 16 men and top 16 women bowlers based on the 2005 Tour rankings will battle for glory.

Bowlers will compete in a round-robin first round on the first two days of the competition at the end of which the top eight will advance to the exciting single-game elimination knock-out stage. All the actions will be on January 7-8.

This year's Tournament of Champions (TOC) will see top Asian bowlers from 11 countries competing for the title with the men representing ten countries whilst the women coming from four countries.

Asia's new powerhouse, Malaysia takes 12 seats out of the 32, followed by Philippines which have 6 bowlers. Singapore and Chinese Taipei each has 3 representatives while Hong Kong has 2.

Ranked No. 1, Alex Liew of Malaysia

With men bowlers from 10 different countries, the field is wide open. Malaysia with 5 five men and 7 women division, promising a clash of fellow countrymen and countrywomen in the knockout stages.

The battle will not be easy as some of the top bowlers have impressive strings of titles going into the finals. Current Asian Ranked No. 1 and top qualifier for the TOC with 264 points is Alex Liew of Malaysia, who has won five international titles including two ABF Tour legs - the inaugural Qatar leg and the Indonesia leg.

Liew has also won the Bahrain Open Masters title, Selangor International Open, Indonesia International Open and Team Gold in the South-East Asian Games early this month. The southpaw will enter the TOC as a firm favorite.

Teammates, Azidi Ameran (2nd-185 pts), TOC debutant, Aaron Kong (4th-154 pts) and Zulmazran Zulkifli (6th-140 pts) will add weight to Malaysia's chances in the finals. With local crowd support, Indonesia's prolific performer, Ryan Lalisang, will definitely give the Malaysians a hard fight.

Lalisang was the most outstanding bowler in the South-East Asian Games when he stunned the favorites by bagging the Singles Gold on opening day. The 25-year-old also won the Bronze medal in the Masters finals.

Local challenger, Ryan Lalisang of Indonesia

But the most outstanding display by the Indonesian was scoring the first perfect game in the inaugural ABF Tour leg in Malaysia in 2004.

Other challengers will come from reigning TOC champion, Wu Siu Hong of Hong Kong (5th-149 pts), Kuwait leg champion, Andrew Frawley of Australia (3rd-164 pts), Philippines leg champion, Shaker Al-Hassan of UAE (8th-127 pts), and two-time World Champion, Ahmed Shaheen of Qatar (10th-119 pts).

Philippines' hopes will come from SEA Games Masters Gold medalist, Markwin Tee (12th-98 pts) and Singapore leg champion, Tyrone Ongpauco (15th-75 pts). Bowlers not to be overlooked are Remy Ong of Singapore (11th-109 pts), Khalid Dubyyan of Kuwait (14th-79 pts), Thailand leg champion, Yannaphon Larpapharat of Thailand (9th-125 pts) and 16-year-old Hong Kong leg champion, Michael Tsang of Hong Kong (16th-75 pts).

The women's field will be a battle amongst four countries - Malaysia (7 bowlers), Philippines (4 bowlers), Chinese Taipei (3 bowlers) and Singapore (2 bowlers). Heading the favorites' list will be southpaw and Indonesia leg champion, Lai Kin Ngoh of Malaysia, who currently leads the tour rankings with 214 points.

Winner of a Bronze medal in the Women's World Championship and a Gold medal in the SEA Games in Manila, Lai will surely give the rest of the field a run for their money.

Another consistent performer in the Asian circuit is Hong Kong Leg champion, Liza Del Rosario of the Philippines (2nd-169 pts), who will lead three of her teammates into the finals.

Lai Kin Ngoh leading the Malaysian women's challenge

The strongest of the three is SEA Games Masters Gold medalist, Liza Clutario (11th-97 pts) with Philippines leg champion and TOC debutant, Apple Posadas (14th-90 pts) and Jojo Canare (16th-82 pts).

The 5 Malaysian representatives are reigning TOC champion, Wendy Chai (6th-112 pts), Choy Poh Lai (4th-140 pts), youngster, Siti Safiyah Amirah (7th-111 pts), Women World Championship Singles Gold medalist, Esther Cheah (9th-109 pts) and Zandra Aziela (10th-107 pts).

Three-times Asian Ranked No. 1, Shalin Zulkifli will be skipping the finals so spinner, Tang Joh Six ranked 17th, from Malaysia will be taking her place.

Singapore's best performer in this year's tour is Thailand leg champion, Jennifer Tan (3rd-165 pts), who will lead her younger teammate and 2004 Singapore National champion, Jazreel Tan (13th-94 pts) to stake their claim on the title.

Three Chinese Taipei spinners led by Women's World Championship triple Gold medalist, Wang Yu Ling (5th-115 pts), Tsai Ting Yi (12th-95 pts) and Singapore leg champion, Chu Yu Chieh (15th-89 pts) will surely be strong contenders.

The ABF Tour - TOC will be telecast on some of the key television stations in the region. For further information and details, please contact ABF Tour Committee at Tel: +852 2893 6039, Fax: +852 2893 6290; Email: hktbc@netvigator.com.

ABF Tour Thailand leg champion, Jennifer Tan

Detailed Rankings: Men's Rankings | Women's Rankings.

Photos by Daniel Winardi, Jaya Ancol Bowl.

 Copyright © Jaya Ancol Bowling Center, 2005-2006. All Rights Reserved. Designed and maintained by NetMedia Services